Above the Fold
Actual CPC (costperclick)
The amount you actually pay for each click, considering your clickthrough rate and the performances of your competitor ads.
Bing Ads powers paid search results on Microsoft’s bing, Yahoo! (as of November 2010), and other sites within its network. Bing Ads was formally known as Microsoft adCenter and is now the second largest paid search provider in the United States.
Text of an ad that aims at catching and holding the interest of the prospective buyer, and at persuading him or her to make a purchase all within a few short seconds.
A narrow, rectangular box in the browser window where you can type in
a web address. Typing in the web address in the address box and hitting
Enter on the keyboard will take you to a website.
Added information that is included in your text ad. These can include extra features about your business, such as your location, phone number, links to certain product or services pages, and call-outs.
An essential component of payperclick marketing. A set of keywords, ads, and bids you manage together, in order to show ads to people likely to be interested in them. Each of your campaigns is made up of one or more ad groups.
(Google AdSense) is an advertising placement service by Google. The program is designed for website publishers who want to display targeted text, video or image advertisements on website pages and earn money when site visitors view or click the ads.
A group of websites where one advertiser controls all or a portion of the ads for all sites. A common example is the Google Search Network, which includes AOL, Amazon,Ask.com (formerly Ask Jeeves), and thousands of other sites. In Google AdWords, they offer two types of ad networks on the internet: search and display (which used to be called their content network).
AdWords is Google’s paid search marketing program, the largest such program in the world and in most countries with notable exceptions such as China (Baidu) and Russia (Yandex). Introduced in 2001, AdWords was the first pay per click provider offering the concept of Quality Score, factoring search relevancy (via click-through rate) in along with bid to
determine ad position.
A type of internet marketing in which you partner with other websites, individuals, or companies to send traffic to your site. You will typically pay on a Cost per Acquisition (CPA) or Cost per Click (CPC) basis.
Data that details how a group of consumers interacts with your marketing efforts or websites. This can be how an audience views videos, ads, pictures, etc and what actions are taken after viewing. This can give a comprehensive view of how your target market is engaged, as a whole, through marketing efforts, as opposed to individualized consumer data.
The term search engines use for the formulae they use to determine the rankings of your Natural Listings. Search engines will periodically send a Spider through your website to view all its information. Their programs analyze then analyze this and other data to value your site and fix whether or not, and how high or low pages on your site will appear on various searches. These algorithms can be very complicated (Google alone currently uses 106 different variables) and search engines closely guard their algorithms as trade secrets.
HTML tags used to describe website graphics by displaying a block of text when mousedover. Search engines are generally unable to view graphics or distinguish text that might be contained within them, and the implementation of an ALT tag enables search engines to categorize that graphic. There is also talk that business websites will all be required to utilize ALT tags for all pictures to comply with certain American Disability Act requirements.
An acronym for the Google-backed Accelerated Mobile Pages Project was announced by Google in October 2015. It was designed as an open-source initiative for publishers to create content that loads quickly on mobile devices. AMP consists of three parts: AMP HTML, AMP JS & Google AMP Cache. For more information see the AMP Project website.
Also known as Web Metrics. Analytics refers to the collection of data about a website and its users. Analytics programs typically give performance data on clicks, time, pages viewed, website paths, and a variety of other Google Analytics information. The proper use of Web analytics allows website owners to improve their visitor experience, which often leads to higher ROI for profit-based sites.
The clickable words of a hypertext link; they will appear as the underlined blue part in standard Web design. In the preceding sentence, “hypertext link” is the anchor text. As with anything in SEO, it can be overdone, but generally speaking, using your important keywords in the anchor text is highly desirable.
A piece of writing included with others in a newspaper, magazine, or other publication. Submitting optimized articles on the subject of your website content is an important and effective aspect of search engine marketing.
The process of creating fake grassroots campaigns. Astroturfing is often used specifically regarding review sites like Google Places, Yelp, Judy’s Book and more. These fake reviews can be positive reviews for your own company or slander against your competitors. Not a good idea.
Not false or copied; genuine; real. Blogs enable people to publish content and engage in conversations that help one develop an authentic voice online.
A feature in Google AdWords that automatically adjusts your ad statuses, budgets, and bids based on the specific parameters that you set.
An autoresponder is a program that automatically sends an email message at a set time or in response to an action taken by a computer or consumer.
For example, when a visitor to your website requests information by sending you an email or clicking on a link, your autoresponder may automatically reply with a predetermined email message. You can set up autoresponders to send out sales information, letters, followup inquiries, or notices.
An icon or figure representing a particular person in Internet forums, blog comments, etc.
Average CPC (costperclick)
The average amount that you’ve been charged for a click on your ad. Average CPC is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks. For example, if your ad receives two clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.
This statistic describes what position your ad typically appears in on the search results page.
AWeber communications develops and manages online optin email newsletters, followup automation, and email deliverability services for small business customers around the world.